A day with real courses

Yesterday, The courses were officially started. First, at 9, I had Information Retrieval with Prof. Kossmann. He is very lovely, modest and kind. In this course we will learn how to extract information from documents. I don’t want to go into detail, but for an overview I have to say that we will be able to design another Google. Unfortunately databases are not great helps here, because they suck when dealing with unstructured contents.

My PhD friend Tahmineh has also taken this course and I met her after the 15-minute break. She told me she would arrange an event to introduce me to other Iranian ETH students. Unlike Kaveh, she seems to enjoy hanging out with them.

As I had classes yesterday and wasn’t at home, I didn’t receive the parcel I was expecting from Iran. Now I made some call and apparently they are now in their way to deliver it.

Another news, I made a new friend named Peter. He is Bulgarian. We met at this computer lab, while he had some problems with course selection. We arranged that we would be teammates for common courses, good for me, as somehow this teammate problem had been a concern for me.

Published in: on September 23, 2010 at 12:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blogself.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/a-day-with-real-courses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

